One of Us Is Lying

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

This was another of my summer reads. So I was at the lakie with friends, reading at the beach between playing in the water, and as I was reading I was giving a breakdown of things to my friend and her nine year old son (without being a soiler), but really after 15 minutes or so they would be asking “so what’s happened now??” This is a great high-school mystery that kept me guessing, well I did guess but then changed my mind. Loads of interest for guys or girls. Told from multiple points of view.

Summary:

The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little LiarsOne of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention, Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?
Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

 

Book trailer.

Advertisements

Surface Tension

Surface Tension by Mike Mullin

Jake was in the wrong place at the wrong time and it could cost him his life as both terrorists and the government are hot on his tail. His one goal was to get on the USA cycling team, and that’s what put him on that deserted road, among semi-trucks when a commercial airliner was blown from the sky.

Captured by the terrorists and in a moment of daring, he escapes a moving truck. When he awakes days later in the hospital, his memory is almost non-existent, his dreams of cycling greatness are gone and someone is trying to kill him. When the FBI needs a confession for a crime he didn’t commit, he has nowhere to turn.

Only the quick thinking of his girlfriend, Laurissa and her family’s wealth and power give him any sense of hope in the legal arena, but first he must survive the further attempts on both his life and the lives of those he loves by the terrorists and an unscrupulous FBI agent.

 

This high-paced thriller had me from the moment I was sent the first chapter as a promo. I knew I immediately wanted the book, and promptly ordered it. This summer it finally arrived and I couldn’t put it down. It reads like an intense action / adventure movie. It is told mostly through Jake’s perspective with an occasional chapter told from Betsy’s perspective. Cliff ending.

No fixed address

No Fixed Address by Susin Nielsen

I just love Susin Nielsen! I love that she’s Canadian, I love that she writes about real issues, I love her sense of humor, and I really love her quirky, odd, memorable characters. This one is sure to be another hit. The first couple of pages grabbed me, but once I read Astrid’s Guidebook to Lies, I knew I was gonna love this one and be recommending it to everyone.

Summary:

Twelve-and-three quarter-year-old Felix Kuntsson has a knack for trivia. His favourite game show is Who, What, Where, When; he even named his gerbil after the host. Felix’s mom, Astrid, is loving but can’t seem to hold on to a job. So when they get evicted from their latest shabby apartment, they have to move into a van. Astrid swears him to secrecy; he can’t tell anyone about their living arrangement, no even Dylan and Winnie, his best friends at his new school. If he does, she warns him, he’ll be taken away from her and put in foster care.

As their circumstances go from bad to worse, Felix gets a chance to audition for a junior edition of Who, What, Where, When and he’s determined to earn a spot on the show. Winning the cash prize could make everything okay again. But things don’t turn out the way he expects…

R.I.P. Eliza Hart

R.I.P. Eliza Hart by Alyssa Sheinmel

This was one of my long weekend reads, and it could fit in either the realistic fiction category or with the mysteries. Told from two perspectives: Eliza Hart and Ellie Sokoloff’s – girl’s who knew each other briefly when they were in kindergarten / grade one. Fast-forward to high school and the drama begins right away with Eliza’s death. Was it murder? Why could Ellie be a prime suspect? or was it an accident? ….

If you can handle dual narratives and love trying to gather up the clues and figure things outs before the last page then this might be a good next read for you.

Summary from the back cover:

When Eliza Hart, the most popular girl at the Ventana Ranch boarding school, is found dead on the cliffs outside her dormitory, Ellie Sokoloff is determined to figure out what happened to her. After all, Eliza was Ellie’s childhood best friend.

Never mind that ever since Ellie arrived at school, Eliza has spread terrible rumors about her, calling her a liar and a stalker, when all Ellie wanted to do was rekindle their old friendship. Or that Ellie’s claustrophobia limits where she can go and what she can do. Or that Ellia’s suitemate, Sam, is the only one who will help her… because to everyone else, Ellie looks like the top suspect.

Can Ellie clear her name and solve the mystery behind Eliza’s death? Her hunt for the truth will uncover secrets she never imagined, sending her deep into her own memories of her childhood with Eliza Hart.

And so it begins…

Well here we are back to school. How did the summer pass by so quickly? I got loads of reading done, and so many good titles to book talk with you. So I’ll try to catch you up on reads from July, August and now September over the next week or so.

The first book I read for my summer reading was…

Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Love this dystopian / deep space adventure! So good, a true page turner, terrific world building with a ethnically diverse group of main characters.

Here’s the summary:

Lives will be lost.

Blood will be shed.

He cannot lose.

Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why he’s been selected as one of ten recruits is a mystery, but with the number of zeroes on his contract, he isn’t arguing.

Each recruit must earn the right to travel down to a planet they’ve never heard of to mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe. Every training session is a ruthless competition where friendships are tested and enemies are made.

Still, the more time Emmett spends in deep space, the more questions he has: questions about the volatile substance they’re hoping to mine, and questions about the true intentions for the recruits. Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.

 

Beware this one has a total cliff hanger ending that will leave you reaching for the next book in the trilogy. For fans of both The Maze Runner and The Hunger Games.